Erin’s Law Curriculum Series

A comprehensive program for middle and high school
students, educators, and families

New in 2024! Erin’s Law Curriculum Series

A comprehensive program for middle school and high school student, educators, and families

Tier 2 and 3 Mental Health Prevention and Intervention

Base Logo

A Curriculum that Meets a Critical and Mandatory Need

Erin’s Law is a legislative initiative aimed at promoting education about personal body safety, boundaries, and recognizing and responding to abusive situations. The law requires schools to implement age-appropriate curriculum regarding these topics, including empowering students to understand what abuse is, how to protect themselves, and how to seek help if needed.

For districts that are required to teach these topics, BASE’s Erin’s Law curriculum meets all requirements mandated by the legislation.

How BASE Education Support Schools

BASE Education’s Erin’s Law curriculum equips schools and districts with the necessary tools and resources required to teach these topics.

  • Provides students with age-appropriate techniques to recognize sexual abuse and how to tell a trusted adult. Students will learn about: personal safety; boundaries; abuse; assertive communication; safe and unsafe touches; trusted adults; reporting abuse and seeking help; consent; and healthy relationships.
  • Educates school personnel about child sexual abuse.
  • Teaches parents and guardians the warning signs of child sexual abuse, plus needed assistance, referral, or resource information to support sexually abused children and their families.
Erin's Law
Erins Law

A Comprehensive Curriculum for Students, Grades 1-12, Educators, and Families

BASE now offers Erin’s Law curriculum for grades 1-12. The existing BASE elementary module includes six components. The new Erin’s Law middle school and high school series each offer:

  • Comprehensive eight-module curriculum for students.

  • Educator Guides with worksheets and content connections.
  • Parent/guardian and instructional versions aligned with student modules.
Erins Law

A Required Curriculum in 38 States

Erin’s Law has been passed in 38 states and introduced or pending introduction in 12 additional states. Once enacted by a state, schools have one year to begin teaching Erin’s Law.

The 38 states that have approved Erin’s Law legislation include: Alabama, Alaska, Arkansas, California, Colorado, Connecticut, Delaware, Georgia, Illinois, Indiana, Louisiana, Maine, Maryland, Michigan, Minnesota, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nevada, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New Mexico, New York, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, South Carolina, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Vermont, Virginia, Washington, West Virginia, Wyoming.

Erin's Law Map Coverage